Home Page

Our Local Committee

Welcome to the Local Committee


The Highfield Schools are delighted to be part of the Nexus Education School Trust (NEST), and although we work very closely with them, the day to day governance of our schools is carried out by the Local Committee which works across both Highfield Schools.


The key responsibilities of the Local Committee are as follows:

  • To carry forward the vision of the Highfield Academies and NEST

  • To ensure that standards of attainment and progress are high

  • To take a strategic role in the governance of the Academy

  • To support and challenge the School’s leaders

  • To monitor and evaluate the work of the Academy in relation to:

- pupil outcomes,

- teaching, learning and assessment,

- effectiveness of leadership and management and

- financial probity

  • To ensure actions are taken to comply with statutory regulations

  • To implement the policies of the Trust and the Academy

  • To support the strategic development of the Trust


Local Committees are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and play a vital role in raising school standards. To operate effectively the Local Committee appoints members who bring a wide range of knowledge and experience. The Local Committee consists of the Headteacher, Community members, Parent members and Staff members.


Local Committee meetings occur every half term and Local Committee Members visit the schools on a regular basis.


Further information on the Local Committee can be found below, but if you wish to contact me then please do so by email: or via either school office.


Jo Addison

Chair of the Local Committee



Jo Addison, Chair of Local Committee
Allison Morris, Headteacher

Mohit Aiyar, Local Committee Member with responsibility for Inclusion

Grace Capon, Local Committee Member (currently on maternity leave)

Paul Humfryes, Local Committee Member

Orla Penruddocke, Local Committee Member with responsibility for Safeguarding

Monique Gonggrijp-Bello,  Parent Local Committee Member

Sam Andrews, Staff Local Committee Member 

Kate Crossley, Clerk to the Local Committee

NOTE: The below document will be updated very soon to to reflect our Local Committee members 2019_2020
Local Committee Member Office Dates Attendance at meetings 2017/18 Declarations of Interest Employment & Skills

Jo Addison

Chair of Local Committee

Appointed 2011 & 2015

Elected Chair November 2017







Part time bookkeeper

Budget management

Media Production

Mohit Aiyar

Local Committee Member with responsibility for Inclusion

Appointed by the Governing Body Dec 2015






Business Development in Banking/Technology. Specialising in business analysis and growth, programme and IT management.

Tim Ayres


Local Committee Member

Elected by staff 2017

Stepped down Oct 2018






Class teacher at Highfield Junior School.

Vice president of Blackheath and Bromley Harriers AC


Fiona Bratt

Vice Chair of Local Committee with responsibility for Achievement, Curriculum and


Appointed by the Governing Body 2010 & 2014

Elected Vice Chair Nov 2017





Primary school teacher working within the borough of Bromley



Fiona Cape

Local Committee Member


Appointed by the Governing Body 2011 & 2015





Self employed Counsellor Financial Services; Family Liaison Officer; Links with PLRA


Andrea Ellis

Local Committee Member

Elected by staff November 2017







Class teacher at Highfield Infants' School


Kira Gabbert

Local Committee

Member with responsibility for Provision, Resources and Finance


by parents May 2016



Revoker LLP member, Exec. Committee Member and Beckenham Conservative Association (BCA), Deputy chair (political) of Shortlands Ward (BCA), Member of Bromleyand Chislehurst Conservative Association, Shortland Safer Neighbourhood Watch panel member and treasurer. Management Consultant

Ann Golding



Appointed 2008 HIS

2014 HJS

Retired July 2018




Headteacher across HIS & HJS

Coaching, Leadership development, moderator.

Allison Morris Headteacher Designate From January 2019     Headteacher across HJS and HIS.

Nicola Osinaike

Local Committee Member

Appointed by the Governing Body May 2017



IT Audit Manager specialism risk management, governance and strategy

Orla Penruddocke

Local Committee Member with responsibility for Safeguarding


Elected by Parents May 2017




Chartered Health Psychologist Communications Manager


Kate Crossley Clerk to the Local Committee Engaged September 2018